Area of Operation

Initially forest area of 04.63 lakh hectare was leased to the F.D.C.M. for a period of thirty years on certain Terms and Conditions through Government Resolutions dated 27.06.1978 and 27.08.1980. Considering all the developmental activities undertaken in the past and requirement of area for the future it was decided by the Government to retain with the F.D.C.M. an area of 03.13 lakh hectare against Government Resolutions of 1978 and 1980, and 01.839 lakh hectare against Government Resolution of 1987. Thus total of 04.969 lakh hectare of forest land is now transferred on lease to the F.D.C.M through Government letter dated 11.09.1997 and Resolution dated 23.09.1997.

The current status of the leased out area with F.D.C. M for its activities is 03.67 lakh hectares. It comes to about 06.00 percent of the total forest area of the State.

The Forest Area leased out to F.D.C.M has been divided into 3 Regions (Territorial), which in turn are divided into 14 Forest Project Division (Territorial), 1 Medicinal Plant Division and 1 Depot Division at Ballarshah.

In addition, Gorewada division is for developing Gorewada International Standard Zoo & Rescue Centre, for which staff & Funds are provided by Forest Department.

The details of the leased forest area with the Company are as follows:-

Region Area (In Hectare)
Nagpur 1,09,821
Chandrapur 1,45,196
Nasik 88,487
Total 3,43,504